The University of Sydney
School of Mathematics and Statistics  
The University of Sydney USyd Home  MyUni MyUni  Library  Sitemap 
 About the School 
 Research Activities 
 For prospective students 
 For current students 
 School Internal Web Site 

University of Sydney Applied Mathematics Seminar

The Applied Mathematics Seminar will be held on Wednesdays 14:05-14:55.

Location semester 1: New Law School Seminar 030 (Building F10)

Location semester 2: Carslaw 173 (Building F07).

Schedule of Talks

Semester 1

Wednesday Mar 3 John Guckenheimer The birth of chaos
Wednesday Mar 10 Bernd Krauskopf Experimental continuation of periodic orbits through a fold
Wednesday Mar 17 Elena Kartashova Nonlinear resonance analysis as a base for novel numerical models
Wednesday Mar 24 Susanne Griebsch The evaluation of European compound option prices under stochastic volatility using fourier transform techniques
Wednesday Mar 31 Frank Nijhoff Multidimensional consistency and Lagrangian structures
Wednesday April 14 Mike Meylan Generalized eigenfunction expansions
Wednesday Apr 21 Matthew Finn Topological chaos in two and three dimensions
Wednesday Apr 28 Harry Braden Monopoles, periods and problems
Wednesday May 5 Marek Rutkowski Arbitrage pricing of defaultable game options
Wednesday May 12 James Parkinson Random walks on homogeneous trees
Wednesday May 19 Martin Wechselberger Rankine-Hugoniot, Lax and folds: the geometry of advection-reaction-diffusion systems
Wednesday May 26 Benjamin Goldys Multidimensional stochastic Burgers equation
Wednesday Jun 2 Georg Gottwald A variance constraining ensemble Kalman filter: How to improve forecast using climatic data of unobserved variables

Semester 2

Wednesday Jul 28
Wednesday Aug 4
Wednesday Aug 11
Wednesday Aug 18
Wednesday Aug 27
Wednesday Sep 1
Wednesday Sep 8
Wednesday Sep 15
Wednesday Sep 22
Wednesday Oct 6
Wednesday Oct 13
Wednesday Oct 20
Wednesday Oct 27