Geometric Structures Working Seminar

The working group currently meets Fridays, 14:00–16:00, in Carslaw 535A.

about the seminar

This is a working seminar on moduli spaces of geometric structures on manifolds, and their connections with topology, group theory and higher Teichmüller theory. Lectures are given by the participants. Everyone interested in participating is welcome.

2017 – first semester

References:

Friday, 10 February, 10:00–12:00 (Week 1)
Robert Haraway: Intersections of curves on surfaces, I
Friday, 17 February, 10:00–12:00 (Week 2)
Dominic Tate: Intersections of curves on surfaces, II
Friday, 24 February, 10:00–12:00 (Week 3)
Alex Casella: Intersections of curves on surfaces, III
Friday, 31 February, 10:00–12:00 (Week 4)
Dickson Annor: Intersections of curves on surfaces, IV
Friday, 7 April, 10:00–12:00 (Week 5)
Boris Lishak: Intersections of curves on surfaces, V
Friday, 5 May, 14:00–16:00 (Week 8)
Erwan Rousseau (Aix-Marseille): On a theorem of Bogomolov
Friday, 12 May, 14:00–16:00 (Week 9)
Robert Haraway: MOM-1.5 topology
Friday, 19 May, 14:00–16:00 (Week 10)
Craig Westerland (Minnesota): Braid groups and shuffle algebras
Friday, 26 May, 14:00–16:00 (Week 11)
Stephan Tillmann: Multisections
Friday, 2 June, 14:00–16:00 (Week 12)
Montek Gill (Michigan): TBA
Friday, 9 June, 14:00–16:00 (Week 13)
TBA: TBA
Friday, 16 June, 10:00–12:00, Location TBA (Week 14)
Charlie Katerba (Montana): TBA

2016 – second semester

References:

Friday, 29 July, 11:00
Robert Haraway: The MOM project
Thursday, 8 September (Week 6)
Alex Casella: Basics on Symplectic and Poisson Structures
Thursday, 22 September (Week 7)
Alex Casella: On Goldman’s Poisson Structure and Formula
Thursday, 6 October (Week 9)
Alex Casella: Fock and Goncharov Moduli space and its Poisson Structure
Thursday, 13 October (Week 10)
Alex Casella: Compatibility of Poisson Brackets I - Monodromy operator
Thursday, 20 October (Week 11)
Alex Casella: Compatibility of Poisson Brackets II - Tunnels and their contribution
Thursday, 27 October (Week 12)
Alex Casella: Compatibility of Poisson Brackets III - Conclusion of the proof
Thursday, 25 November (11:00–11:30)
Dominic Tate: Bounded Functions on Triangulated Surfaces with Framed Convex Projective Structure
Thursday, 25 November (11:30–12:00)
Alex Casella: Fock and Goncharov Moduli Space and its Poisson Structure

2016 – first semester

Tuesday, 8 March (Week 2)
James Parkinson: Introduction to Euclidean buildings, I
Tuesday, 15 March (Week 3)
James Parkinson: Introduction to Euclidean buildings, II
Tuesday, 22 March (Week 4)
Stephan Tillmann: Degenerations of hyperbolic structures and actions on trees
Tuesday, 4 April (Week 5)
Eric Chesebro (Montana): Geometry of 2-bridge links
Tuesday, 11 April (Week 6)
Robert Haraway is giving a talk at UNSW
Tuesday, 18 April (Week 7)
Alex Casella: More about buildings, I
Tuesday, 25 April (Week 8)
Alex Casella: More about buildings, II
Tuesday, 31 May (Week 13)
Discussion: Fock and Goncharov revisited
Tuesday, 14 June (Week 15)
Robert Tang (Oklahoma): All about the curve complex
Tuesday, 21 June
Kate Turner (EPFL): Algorithms to compute persistent homology – cancelled
Tuesday, 30 June
Robert Tang (Oklahoma): Electrified Teichmüller space and subsurface projection

2015 – second semester

References:

Tuesday, 21 July (Week 0)
Montek Gill: Kabaya, Sections 1–3
Tuesday, 28 July (Week 1)
Montek Gill: Kabaya, Sections 3–4
Tuesday, 4 August (Week 2)
Stephan Tillmann: Properly convex projective structures on surfaces
Tuesday, 11 August (Week 3)
Alex Casella: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.1
Tuesday, 18 August (Week 4)
Alex Casella: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.2
Tuesday, 25 August (Week 5)
Robert Haraway: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.3
Tuesday, 1 September (Week 6)
Robert Haraway: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.3
Tuesday, 8 September (Week 7)
Robert Haraway: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.4
Tuesday, 15 September (Week 8)
Alex Casella: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.5
Tuesday, 22 September (Week 9)
Alex Casella: Fock-Goncharov, Section 2.6–2.7
Tuesday, 6 October (Week 10)
Discussion
Tuesday, 13 October (Week 11)
Discussion
Tuesday, 20 October (Week 12)
Discussion

2015 – first semester

Tuesday, 10 March (Week 2)
Stephan Tillmann: Developing map and holonomy, I
Tuesday, 17 March (Week 3)
Stephan Tillmann: Developing map and holonomy, II
Tuesday, 24 March (Week 4)
Montek Gill: Triangulations, fundamental group and covering spaces
Tuesday, 14 April (Week 6)
Alex Casella: Thurston's hyperbolic gluing equations, I
Tuesday, 21 April (Week 7)
Alex Casella: Thurston's hyperbolic gluing equations, II
Tuesday, 28 April (Week 8)
Grace Garden: The mapping class group, I
Tuesday, 5 May (Week 9)
Grace Garden: The mapping class group, II
Tuesday, 12 May (Week 10)
Dominic Tate: The Teichmüller space of a surface, I
Tuesday, 26 May (Week 12)
Dominic Tate: The Teichmüller space of a surface, II
Tuesday, 2 June (Week 13)
Hemanth Saratchandran (Oxford): Kirby calculus, I
Tuesday, 9 June (Week 14)
Hemanth Saratchandran (Oxford): Kirby calculus, II

references