The University of Sydney

School of Mathematics and Statistics NSW 2006 Australia Telephone: 9351 4533

SUMS Competition 1999

Results

Book vouchers to the value of \$40 each from the Co-op Bookshop, provided by the School of Mathematics and Statistics and with the generosity of the Co-op Bookshop, go to the entrants with the best correct solutions of each of the problems:

Problem 1: Nguyen The Phuong (University of New South Wales).

Problem 2 : Andrew Brooke-Taylor (Australian National University),

Justin Koonin (University of Sydney) (shared).

Problem 3: Alexandre Mah (University of New South Wales),

Problem 4: David Harvey (University of New South Wales)

Alexandre Mah (University of New South Wales) (shared).

Problem 5: Dao Hai Long (University of Sydney).

Problem 6: David Harvey (University of New South Wales).

Problem 7: Jonathan Kusilek (University of Sydney),

Thomas Lam (University of New South Wales).

Problem 8: Justin Koonin (University of Sydney),

David Harvey (University of New South Wales) (shared).

Problem 9: David Harvey (University of New South Wales),

Problem 10: Jonathan Kusilek (University of Sydney),

Alexandre Mah (University of New South Wales) (shared).

The Norbert Quirk Prizes (given to the best entries from Sydney University) were awarded to:

1st Year: Justin Koonin.

2nd Year: Dao Hai Long, Jonathan Kusilek (shared).

3rd Year: No award.