



Sydney University Mathematical Society Problem Competition 2008

Results

Book vouchers to the value of \$60 each, provided by the Joan Patricia Adams Bequest and the generous sponsorship of the Co-op Bookshop, go to the entrants with the best correct solutions of each of the problems. (Since two questions were not solved this year, the value of a half-share was increased to \$50.)

Problem	# correct entries	Prize-winner (or joint prize-winners)
1	15	Anthony Morris (UNSW)
		Ross Ogilvie (University of Sydney)
2	13	Graham White (University of Sydney)
3	9	Anthony Morris (UNSW)
4	10	Vinoth Nandakumar (University of Sydney)
5	10	Michael Donovan (Macquarie University)
		Tom Merom (University of Sydney)
6	13	Philipp Allgeuer (University of Adelaide)
7	0	no prize-winner
8	3	Michael Donovan (Macquarie University)
		Jonathan Henshaw (ANU)
9	3	Jonathan Henshaw (ANU)
10	0	no prize-winner

The Norbert Quirk Prizes (for the best entrants from the University of Sydney) are awarded to:

Year	Prize-winner
1	Vinoth Nandakumar
2	Graham White
3	Christopher Leong

Congratulations to the prize-winners, and thanks to all entrants.