About the School

News and events

Australian Mathematical Society medal awarded to Geordie Williamson

Professor Geordie Williamson has been awarded the Australian Mathematical Society medal for 2018.

See the AMSI media release for information about this year's awards, and the list of former winners on the Australian Mathematical Society website.

ARC success for members of the School

The following members of the School of Mathematics and Statistics have been awarded funding from the Australian Research Council for projects beginning in 2019:

Some further information is available on our research grants web page.

Launch of the University of Sydney Mathematical Research Institute

On Monday 12th November 2018 the University of Sydney's new Mathematical Research Institute was launched by the Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Dr Michael Spence, and the Institute's founding director, Professor Geordie Williamson.

International Mathematical Union honours Nalini Joshi

Professor Nalini Joshi has been elected Vice-President of the International Mathematical Union, from the start of 2019. She becomes the first Australian to hold this position.

Geordie Williamson, plenary speaker at the International Congress

Professor Geordie Williamson has become the first Australia based mathematician to be a plenary speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicans. Organized by the International Mathematical Union, and held every four years, the ICM is the premier event on the calendar of mathematicians world-wide.

The ICM website has a page describing Professor Williamson's talk: Williamson: 'Semi-simplicity is like the air we breathe'. The slides from his lecture, Representation Theory and Geometry, are also available.

Vale Leon Poladian (1964-2018)

We are deeply saddened by the untimely passing of our colleague A/Prof Leon Poladian, whose many contributions to the University of Sydney, and to the mathematical sciences in Australia, will be long remembered.

Geordie Williamson Fellow of the Royal Society and the Australian Academy of Science

Professor Geordie Williamson has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society, making him the Society's youngest living Fellow. He accepted his election at a ceremony in London in July 2018.

See the University of Sydney News story for further information.

Prof Williamson has also been elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science: see the citation on the Academy of Science website.

→ Old news and events