Undergraduate Study

Mathematics and Statistics in the Summer School


The full list of mathematics and statistics courses that should be offered during the 2018 Summer School is given below.

The Summer School Coordinator for the School of Mathematics and Statistics is Dr Nathan Brownlowe.

The Deputy Summer School Coordinator is Dr Brad Roberts.

The School's Student Services Manager is Mr Chamreun Cheen.

For general information about the University of Sydney Summer School, follow links from the Sydney Summer School web page.

For further information about mathematics and statistics courses offered during first and second semesters, follow links from the main Mathematics and Statistics teaching page.

The Summer School Examination Timetable is posted below, which has now been confirmed as final. All examinations have 10 minutes reading time. Junior units then last for 90 minutes and intermediate units for 120 minutes.

2018 Summer School
Examination Timetable:

21 February 2018
22 February 2018
23 February 2018
26 February 2018
1:50 pm
Carslaw 350/351

Carslaw 360/361

Carslaw 350/351

Carslaw 359
1:50 pm
Carslaw 359

Carslaw 359

Carslaw 451/452

Carslaw 350/351
1:50 pm
Carslaw 350/351

Calculators in exams

For almost all examinations in units of study taught by the School of Mathematics and Statistics, students are permitted to take their own electronic calculator into the examination room provided it has been approved. The list of approvable calculators is on the Examinations Office web site with instructions on how to get your calculator approved.

Students would be well advised to purchase one of these. Students must get an approved sticker put on their calculator at the Student Centre in the Jane Foss Russell building.

Course notes

Printed lecture notes for MATH1001, MATH1003, MATH1011, MATH1013 and MATH2061 are available from Kopystop, Shop 3/55 Mountain Street, Broadway. Please note that Kopystop will close on Thursday 21 December 2017 and will reopen on Monday 15 January 2018.

Units of Study 2018

The following units of study should be available in the 2018 Summer School, taking place during most of January and February 2018:

  • MATH1001 Differential Calculus (3 credit points),
  • MATH1002 Linear Algebra (3 credit points),
  • MATH1003 Integral Calculus and Modelling (3 credit points),
  • MATH1004 Discrete Mathematics (3 credit points),
  • MATH1005 Statistics (3 credit points),
  • MATH1011 Applications of Calculus (3 credit points),
  • MATH1013 Mathematical Modelling (3 credit points),
  • MATH2061 Linear Mathematics and Vector Calculus (6 credit points),
  • MATH2065 Introduction to Partial Differential Equations (6 credit points),