menuicon

Research

Geometry & Topology Seminar

To suggest speakers, propose a talk, be added to or removed from the mailing list, or for any other information, please contact Boris Lishak, Haotian Wu or Stephan Tillmann.

Semester 1, 2019

Talks in Semester 1 will be on Tuesdays from 14:00–15:00 in Carslaw 535 unless noted otherwise. The titles below should be linked to the abstracts.

Wednesday 23 January, 11:00-12:00, Carslaw 535A
Maggie Miller (Princeton)
Diagrams for surface isotopies in 4-manifolds
Wednesday 23 January, 14:00-15:00, Carslaw 535A
Ruth Kellerhals (Fribourg)
Small hyperbolic orbifolds and Coxeter groups
Thursday 31 January, 11:00-12:00, Carslaw 159
Yann Bugeaud (Strasbourg)
Exponential Diophantine equations
Tuesday 12 February, 11:00-12:00, Carslaw 159
Søren Galatius (Copenhagen)
Tropical curves, graph homology, and top weight cohomology of M_g
Thursday 21 February, 11:00-12:00, Carslaw 830
Wilderich Tuschmann (Karlsruhe)
Spaces and Moduli Spaces of Nonnegatively Curved Riemannian Metrics
Tuesday 26 February
Marcelo Laca (Victoria)
Equilibrium and monoidal growth
Tuesday 5 March
Masanori Kobayashi (Tokyo Metropolitan)
Application of tropical geometry to scheduling problem
Monday 11 March
Volker Schlue (Melbourne)
Geometry of expanding black hole cosmologies
Tuesday 19 March
Marco Mazzucchelli (ENS Lyon)
Periodic orbits of exact magnetic flows on surfaces
Tuesday 26 March
Anita Liebenau (UNSW)
On Ramsey equivalence in graph theory
Tuesday 2 April
Colin Guillarmou (Orsay)
On Fried conjecture (Lefschetz formula for flows) for Anosov flows
Tuesday 16 April
Ramiro Lafuente (UQ)
Homogeneous Einstein manifolds via a cohomogeneity-one approach
Tuesday 30 April
Xianfeng Wang (Nankai)
Minimal Lagrangian submanifolds of the complex hyperquadric
Tuesday 7 May
Matthias Lesch (University of Bonn)
The resolvent expansion of geometric operators on singular spaces
Tuesday 14 May
Alex Casella (Florida State)
Coordinates for real projective structures using ideal triangulations
Tuesday 21 May
Charles Katerba (Montana State)
Twist knot intersections in the character variety of the Whitehead link
Tuesday 28 May
Henry Segerman (OSU)
From veering triangulations to pseudo-Anosov flows
Tuesday 4 June, 14:00-15:00, Carslaw 375
Vidit Nanda (Oxford)
The topology of cellular gradient flow
Tuesday 11 June, 12:00-13:00, Carslaw 375
Christine Lee (South Alabama)
A surface construction for colored Khovanov homology
Tuesday 18 June, 12:00-13:00, Carslaw 375
Ignat Soroko (Louisiana State)
Groups of type FP: their quasi-isometry classes and homological Dehn functions

Semester 2, 2019

Talks in Semester 2 will be on Mondays from 12:00–13:00 in Carslaw 375 unless noted otherwise. The titles below should be linked to the abstracts.

Monday 9 September
Dror Bar-Natan (Toronto)
TBA